President Kovind approves 390 gallantry awards for armed forces personnel

President Ramnath Kovind on Thursday approved 390 gallantry and other defence decorations awards to armed forces personnel on the eve of 69th Republic Day celebrations.

As per the defence ministry, the awards include one Ashok Chakra, one Kirti Chakra, 14 Shaurya Chakras, 28 Param Vishisht Seva Medals, four Uttam Yudh Seva Medals, two Bar to Ati Vishisht Seva Medals, 49 Ati Vishisht Seva Medals, 10 Yudh Seva Medals, two Bar to Sena Medals (Gallantry), 86 Sena Medals (Gallantry).

Besides, Mr Kovind also approved one Nao Sena Medal (Gallantry), three Vayu Sena Medals (Gallantry), two Bar to Sena Medals (Devotion to Duty), 38 Sena Medals (Devotion to Duty), 13 Nao Sena Medals (Devotion to Duty), 14 Vayu Sena Medals (Devotion to Duty), one Bar to Vishisht Seva Medal and 121Vishisht Seva Medals for the security forces personnel.

Indian Air Force (IAF) commando Jyoti Prakash Nirala will be posthumously awarded the Ashoka Chakra, India’s highest peacetime military decoration awarded for valour, courageous action or self-sacrifice away from the battlefield.

The Kirti Chakra will be given to Major Vijayant Bist of the 4th Battalion the Jammu and Kashmir Light Infantry.

Post-independence, first three gallantry awards namely the Param Vir Chakra, the Maha Vir Chakra and the Vir Chakra were instituted by the government on January 26, 1950 which were deemed to have effect from the August 15, 1947.

Thereafter, other three gallantry awards namely the Ashoka Chakra Class-I, the Ashoka Chakra Class-II and the Ashoka Chakra Class-III were instituted by the government January 4, 1952.

These awards were renamed as the Ashoka Chakra, the Kirti Chakra and the Shaurya Chakra respectively in January, 1967.

These gallantry awards are announced twice in a year – first on the occasion of the Republic Day and then on the occasion of the Independence Day.


GSTVના લેટેસ્ટ News અને Videos માટે લાઈક કરો Youtube Twitter