PM Modi to honour National Teachers Awards recipients on Today

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will honour recipients of the National Teachers’ Awards on the eve of National Teachers’ Day on September 4 and Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu will confer the awards to them at a function on September 5, Teachers’ Day.

A total of 152 nominations were finally received from all states, UTs and organisations. The final selection was  done by an independent jury. The criteria adopted was to select those teachers who had shown innovation  in their work and had added value to the school and to their students, an official release said.

In an attempt to make the process ”transparent and fair”, this year the Human Resource Development (HRD)  Ministry has revised the guidelines for the selection of teachers for national awards (2017). The basic premise  now is that the honour is a reward demonstrated excellence and performance and inspired by recent  innovations in major national awards.

All regular teachers will be eligible to apply and no minimum years of service is required as in the previous years. This has enabled meritorious young teachers to apply doing away with the old requirement of teachers  with a minimum 15 years of service to be considered eligible.

Of the 6,692 applications received from teachers from all over the country, the number of awards has been  rationalised to 45. This, ministry souces said, has been necessary to restore the prestige of the awards  from the earlier number of 300 awardees.

For the first time, all teachers can directly apply and nominate themselves for the award. Self-nominations  from teachers have been invited online on The web portal was developed by the  Administrative Staff College of India (ASCI) and the entire software ran smoothly without any glitches
or complaints. It is for the first time that online applications have been invited for these awards.

Every district selected the three best teachers and forwarded these to the committee under the State/UT  Secretary of Education who made a shortlist.

These nominated teachers gave a presentation before an independent jury comprising a senior educationist,  during third week of August 2018. This ensured that all of them were given an opportunity to place before  the jury their contribution and the work done by them, the release said.

GSTVના લેટેસ્ટ News અને Videos માટે લાઈક કરો Youtube Twitter