PM Modi to contest from Varanasi, Amit Shah from Gandhinagar

Yesterday’s list has 184 candidates, union minister JP Nadda said, as he announced the names.  BJP president Amit Shah will fight from Gandhinagar in his home town Gujarat; a seat where BJP veteran LK Advani is the sitting lawmaker. Mr Advani is not on the first list of candidates.
The Lok Sabha elections will be held in seven phases beginning April 11; votes will be counted on May 23.
PM Modi will contest from Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh, the parliamentary seat he retained after winning two seats in the 2014 election, the BJP announced on Thursday evening, as it released its first list of candidates for Lok Sabha elections that begin next month.
28 names each have been announced for Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal, 21 Karnataka, 16 Maharashtra, 16 Rajasthan, 13 Kerala, 10 Odisha, 10 Telangana, 8 Assam, 5 Tamil Nadu, 5 Chhattisgarh, 5 Jammu and Kashmir, 5 Uttarakhand, 2 Arunachal, 2 Tripura, 2 Andhra Pradesh, 1 Gujarat, 1 Sikkim, 1 Mizoram, 1 Lakshwadeep and 1 Dadra and Nagar Haveli.
Union ministers Rajnath Singh and Nitin Gadkari will contest from Lucknow and Nagpur respectively. Both leaders had won from these seats in the last general election.
Union minister Smriti Irani will take on Congress president Rahul Gandhi for the second time, as she contests from Amethi. In the 2014 polls, she lost to Mr Gandhi from his bastion, but managed to reduce his winning margin.
Minister VK Singh will fight from Ghaziabad, parliamentarian Hema Malini from her existing constituency Mathura and Sakshi Maharaj will contest from Unnao.
Union Minister Babul Supriyo will fight to retain his Asanol seat, where he will face Trinamool Congress’s Moon Moon Sen. The BJP has also fielded Bengali film actress Locket Chatterjee from Hooghly.
GSTVના લેટેસ્ટ News અને Videos માટે લાઈક કરો Youtube Twitter