Marshal Arjan Singh Memorial All India Hockey tournament held at Chandigarh from May 7-12

The first ‘Marshal Arjan Singh Memorial’ All India Hockey Tournament

is being conducted by Air Force Sports Control Board, New Delhi to honour the great soldier.

To propel the awareness of Hockey and also to reinstate its prominence, a national level tournament uniting 16 teams (eight elite club teams of the country with another eight teams

from the armed forces and para military forces) is being held at Chandigarh from May 7 to 12.

The matches will be conducted at 3 Base Repair Depot (Air Force) and Sector 42 Astro

Turf Hockey Grounds at Chandigarh, an IAF statement here on Saturday said.

Late Marshal of the Indian Air Force Arjan Singhwas the first and the only ‘Five Star’ rank

officer of the IAF and was a keen lover of the game of Hockey.

The IAF legend has always been an inspiration to the Air Warriors and lead from the

front not only in the field of battle but also in sporting activities.

Chief of the Air Staff, Air Chief Marshal BS Dhanoa would be the Chief Guest for the

final match on May 12.

Curtain raiser and press conference of the tournament will be held on May 6. Air Marshal

Hemant Sharma, Air Officer Commanding-in-Chief, Maintenance Command will declare the tournament open.

Prominent sports personalities have also been invited to witness and grace the occasion.

The Indian Air Force has always been in the forefront for promoting sports and games.

The recently concluded Commonwealth Games at Gold Coast, Australia yielded a rich

haul of 3 medals from the Air Force stables. The medal harvest is a testimony to the

impetus being provided by the IAF towards sporting excellence.

The ‘Marshal Arjan Singh Memorial’ All India Hockey Tournament is yet another endeavour

in the direction of achieving sporting prowess in our National sport.

GSTVના લેટેસ્ટ News અને Videos માટે લાઈક કરો Youtube Twitter