It was a time when BJP MP lost his election ticket in a bus and fought as Independent candidate

Pratap Chandra Sarangi, popularly known as Odisha’s Modi, who sworn in as a Minister of State in the Modi cabinet on Thursday, had fought the 2009 Odisha Assembly elections as an Independent candidate.

Sarangi contested the 2009 Odisha assembly election as an Independent despite bagging a Bharatiya Janata Party  ticket.

This was not because he had a fall out with the BJP in 2009 but because he was travelling in public transport and had lost his party ticket.

While speaking to media, BJP VP Sameer Mohanty said that in 2009, Pratap Chandra Sarangi, who is known for his austere and simple lifestyle was once travelling in public transport with the party ticket in his bag.

“He had kept the ticket in some bag and used public transport for travel and then lost the ticket. As nomination deadline was around the corner, he filed as an Independent candidate,” Sameer Mohanty was quoted as saying.

Prior to his entry into the Lok Sabha, Pratap Chandra Sarangi was twice elected to the Odisha Assembly – 2004 and 2009 – from the Nilagiri Vidhan Sabha or assembly constituency under Balasore parliamentary constituency.

In 2004, Sarangi was elected as a saffron party candidate in the Odisha assembly. In 2009, the current Balasore MP was elected as an Independent.

A good orator, both in Odia and Sanskrit, the RSS follower, is popular for riding around the villages in a bicycle. He, however, campaigned in an auto rickshaw for the Lok Sabha Elections 2019.


GSTVના લેટેસ્ટ News અને Videos માટે લાઈક કરો Youtube Twitter