BJP-Nitish Kumar will contest the 2019 polls together

Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and BJP  has been bargaining since months, now  both will settle in Bihar’s 40 Lok Sabha seats. JD(U) will get 16 seats,BJP to get 17 seats.

Cold war between BJP, Chief Minister Nitish Kumar was going on over the seat allocation, Among Bihar’s 40 Lok Sabha seats, almost equal to the larger ally – for next year’s general elections. Mr Kumar will get 16 seats, just one less than the BJP, sources told told to leading media house.

Sources said the deal was sealed in Delhi on the second week of September between Prime Minister Modi, BJP chief Amit Shah and the Bihar Chief Minister, who managed to keep up a steady pressure on the larger ally. The other NDA allies in the state, Ram Vilas Paswan will get five seats and Upendra Kushwaha will get two seats.

A formal announcement is expected this week – the BJP had been waiting for a nod from the other allies. There has also been the question of a contingency plan in case Upendra Kushwaha, seen as a restive ally, decides to walk out. The two seats earmarked for him will be evenly divided between the BJP and the JD(U), sources said.

Mr Kumar has been unyielding – sending back the BJP to the drawing board when they came up with a draft plan two months ago, giving themselves a lion’s share of 22 seats.  His leaders had held out for what they called a more “equitable” distribution.

Senior BJP leader Bhupendra Yadav had hastened to assure that the formula was by no means final. “Nothing has been finalised, once it is, you will come to know,” he had said. The BJP is explaining the current formula with one used by the Grand Alliance in the 2015 assembly elections.

GSTVના લેટેસ્ટ News અને Videos માટે લાઈક કરો Youtube Twitter